My Steamy Blog

Okay, I tricked you. This post is steamy, but in a curious way. This all came to me the other morning while I was taking a nice steamy shower. So nice. Who doesn’t like a toasty warm shower on a chilly day? Don’t forget I live in Alaska. A lot of days are chilly days. But I digress. It crossed my mind that even if I wanted to I could not spend the rest of my life in that warm steamy shower. I couldn’t even spend the rest of the day there. I would, of course, turn into a wrinkly raisin of a writer. (alliteration, TYVM)  I began thinking about that moment when I grit my teeth, reach over and shut off the shower, push open the door, grab the towel and face the cold, cruel world again. And what about about the nature of showers? Are there other segments of our lives which are similar? This is not ground breaking stuff, but it is kind of interesting. A shower is a world where it’s always raining, always warm, has no cell phones, no computers, no emails, no telemarketers, and no kids asking you what’s for dinner. Nice. It’s also where a lot of people have their best ideas. Wait a minute, that sounds a lot like meditation! I tricked you again. It’s exactly like meditation, except for the getting clean and wrinkly part. When you shut off the outside world you begin to connect to your inner self, the source of all creativity. I am a very creative person. There, I said it. But truth be told, I am more or less just a messenger. After many years of meditating, my unconscious inner self, aka collective consciousness, inner voice, etc and I have become close friends.  I ask it for ideas and it sends them to me.  I don’t like all of them, but I can pick and choose the ones I do like, mash them all together and call it Orville Mouse and the Puzzle of the Clockwork Glowbirds. But, back to the steamy part of the blog. We know we can’t stay in the shower forever, we know we can’t sit and meditate forever, we know we can’t go on vacation forever without having it turn into not a vacation, or eat key lime pie forever, or drink wine, beer, vodka, or ingest  recreational pharmaceuticals forever without disastrous results. Well, most of us know this, but some of us haven’t stopped trying. Mmmm…. key lime pie. The world is the perfect mouse trap. Here we are. There’s a big wide road ahead of us filled with obstacles, the sign reading, “Highway to Happiness”. People peer down the road, see the big scary jagged obstacles and say, “Waiter, more pie please.” After nine pieces of key lime pie, “Unnggh. That didn’t really help.” Every attempt we make to permanently avoid going down that road has perfectly disastrous results, and that is the perfection of this world.

Somewhere ages and ages hence: Two roads diverged in a wood, and I — I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.     –Robert Frost

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

