Bartholomew the Adventurer’s Amazing Review!

Every once in a while I get a truly moving review that makes it all worthwhile.  This is one of them. I truly appreciate the time and thought that went into this review. Thank you T.L Coon!!

Treasured Trilogy

Review of the Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy
By T.L. Coon  on August 24, 2016
Verified Purchase

This series has skyrocketed to the tiptop of our list of the best books we have read this year. I originally was drawn to the books when I found a couple of them on the Kindle Best Sellers List; I thought they would be appropriate for my nine year old advanced reader. It can be difficult to find books that are truly interesting to a young advanced reader while still being truly appropriate for their age. Well, little did I know that I would fall in love, as well.
Tom Hoffman is an excellent writer. Smart. Creative. Economical. Impactful. Obsessed with the Common Good. And he exquisitely crafts an engaging story, as well!If you are a quiet, gentle, kind soul, these books are for you — old or young. If you like a wildly imaginative, strapping-good adventure full of small acts of great love, these books are for you. If you enjoy science, philosophy, and dignity-for-all these books are also for you.My daughter and I often refer to these characters and concepts which have ignited our imaginations throughout the course of our days. I love that we have common content to discuss and ponder together. Most of all, we can’t shake the way reading these books makes us feel: Joyful and Hopeful!

So, let me mention that some of the most excellent books that this series beats out for the Best of the Year Title are The Chronicles of Prydain (by Lloyd Alexander), The Wee Free Men (by Terry Pratchett), and, in my case, The Long Ships (by Frans Bengtsson) which was one of the most well written books I have ever read. The Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy beats these out for the way it continues to influence and affect you long after the reading of it is complete. As much as I adored The Long Ships, it is these characters and ideas we carry within to reference when we need some daily strength and hope for the future. They have elevated our perspectives.

Leave a Reply

